Managing Your Applicants

You can view any applications that have been submitted to your Active, Expired, Suspended, or Archived postings by clicking on the posting, then clicking on the View Applicants button located in the top right corner of the screen.

STEP 1: Open your Job Postings tab

You will be able to see at a glance how many applicants the posting has by looking at the number under the Applicants column in the Posting list. There are three main sections that make up the Applicant List page:

  • Posting Info – the first panel at the top of the screen shows the name of the posting, its ID, and its status.
  • Filters – the second panel to the right of the screen shows the filters you can use to organize the applicant list.
  • Applicant List – the bottom of the screen lists all of the job seekers who have applied to this position on Magnet, sorted by name. 

Step 2: Click on a candidate’s name to view their resume.

The individual’s full resume and any attachments or shared media they added to their application will be visible.

Step 3: Click on the Candidate Match tab.

The Candidate Match tab shows a breakdown of how well the individual matches to the criteria you outlined during the posting creation process. If the applicant meets a requirement, a check mark will appear next to it. The more check marks the individual has, the more requirements of the posting they meet. 

Step 4: Click on the Job Posting tab.

A view of the job posting the applicant applied to. 

Step 5: Click on the Shared Media tab.

The list of items on the left side shows all the media items you have added to your account. If you scroll to the bottom of the page, you can add additional media from your computer if you wish. Click on any of the items present, and they will be shared with the applicant. The applicant will see a similar screen, and can share media with you as well. This section is useful for things like portfolios of projects. You may wish to share media about the company with the individual, or send along documentation for the hiring process.

Step 6: Note the greyed-out Communication section and the blue Communicate button.

You can choose to use an in-system chat system to contact the individual by clicking on the Communicate button located directly beneath the individual’s name.  This will enable the Communicate tab, which shows a chat log of one-to-one communications with the user.  The chat is not instant, so you will have to refresh your page to see any new messages. You can send messages to the applicant by clicking the New Message button.  

Step 7: Return to the applicant list by clicking on the Go Back button

Note the various Candidate Management Tools including creating notes about the posting or applicants, changing the posting’s recruitment status, and marking each applicant’s status in the hiring process. 

Step 8: Click on View Notes located in the Posting Information section.

This View Notes link allows you to add notes that pertain to the entire posting. Notes can be edited and deleted by the user who created the note. All notes can be seen by anyone in the Employer account. 

Step 9: Change the posting’s recruitment status from within the posting note screen.

The recruitment status refers to whether or not you are still looking to fill the position or if you have found a hire. All postings will begin in the Open state, meaning the organization is looking for someone to fill the role. You can change the status to Filled meaning you have found someone for the position, or Closed, meaning you are no longer looking to fill the position. Note that this Recruitment status is not shown on the Job Seeker side.

Step 10: Click on a Notes link next to an applicant.

You can also record notes for each individual applicant. These notes will be unique to the posting. For example, if Dave applies to posting A and B, and you write a note for Dave in posting A, the note will not also appear in posting B. 

Step 11: Note the Mark as options inside the applicant note section.

Check one of the options on, then close the notes section and notice the new symbol that appears above the applicant’s View Profile.

During the hiring process, you can add icons to each applicant to indicate at what stage in the process that individual is in. For example, if one of the users has been interviewed, you can mark that individual as Interviewed. You can then make use of the Filter panel on the applicant list screen and sort applicants according to these markers.

Step 12: Note the Export to CSV button.

You’ll see an Export to CSV link in each applicant’s notes panel, the posting notes panel, as well as one link located inside the posting information panel at the top of the page. Each of these links will allow you to export the information of the page you are currently on into a CSV spreadsheet that can downloaded and edited. For example, clicking on the link inside the note panel of an applicant will export all of the notes for that applicant in that posting, while the link at the top of the page will export the entire applicant list for that posting, excluding the notes for each applicant. 

Step 13: (Optional) Create an Applicant Queue.

Click on the check box located next to an applicant, or click Select all Candidates from the Filter Options box on the right side of the screen. The Actions menu in the middle of the page will light up. Click the Actions button to produce a drop-down menu, then select Share Applicant Queue. A pop up will appear prompting you for an email address and message. Click on the given link to open a new tab displaying the Applicant Queue.

The Applicant Queue allows you to share a list of all the applicants you have selected with others outside of the Magnet system. None of the notes or recruitment status icons will appear in the Applicant Queue.

The Applicant Queue is useful for sharing applicant information with those who do not have access to your Magnet account, such as the companies a Recruiter would be seeking candidates for.